Select Page
Myanmar Travel Association Meet

Myanmar Travel Association 7th Annual Meet Results Video Click


UMTA_Election by Sonny AMO
UMTA Election Copyright TMC.

Today we have witnessed the history in the making in the Travel Industry of Myanmar.  It is the 7th Annual General Meeting and Election of UMTA – Union of Myanmar Travel Association.

The meeting started at 9:20 a.m with same old elaborate routine with opening speech by Chairman, Ministry personnel etc. But there was something was in the air long before the meeting started. There was small groups of well groomed white Teik-pon people wearing stern faces twittering silently, some lady busy distributing photocopied papers, some people queuing to register their attendance. Present at the meeting were U Win Aung – Chairman of Myanmar Chamber of Commerce, U Aung Zaw Win – DG from Ministry of Hotel & Tourism, U Maung Maung Swe – Chairman of UMTA, ECs of UMTA and Members and Observers of UMTA plus media corp.

Half way through the meeting, at a point where the Chairma called for decision to vote for the Executive Committee members, Ms. Sabai Aung of Nature Dream drew attention to the fact that the General Meeting may meet and its deliberations shall be valid if at least one-half plus one person of the total number of members are present. Out of 406 members, according to U Tin Tun Aung (former secretary of UMTA) there were only 196 attendees recognizing there were 7 members short. U Tin Tun Aung tried to include the absent 2 former EC members into consideration but to no avail.

Then U Win Aung of UMFCCI – the Chamber of Commerce intervened and laid out the guideline for free and fair election. He also offered to help the whole election process with his office staff although it was a Sunday. After that the Election went on with vote issuing, voting and vote counting. The results are announced with U Min Din getting the highest vote 67 and Dr. Aung Myat Kyaw and Daw Rita both had got 63 votes so on and so forth. The results are out at 5:00 p.m.


Final Verdict :

Dr. Aung Myat Kyaw as Chairman, U Thet Lwin Toh as Vice Chairman(1), U Kyaw Min Htin Vice Chairman(2), U Naung Naung Han(Secretary),U Tin Tun Aung(Joint Secretary-1), U Min Thein(Joint Secretary-2), Daw Rita Myint(Treasurer). There are altogether 29 Executive Committee Members according to


Sonny. TMC